Snaggletooth: ArtJournal Spread

At the beginning of July, my little Z had a big milestone. He lost his first tooth! I grabbed my camera to document the momentous occasion. Obviously, the next step was to create a journal spread. SnaggleTooth

Lately, I have been trying to participate in the Documented Life Project. To fit in with my journal I made for this project, I have been using 11x15in watercolor paper and then I cut it in half when I am finished. I am also stepping outside of my comfort zone and joining a challenge! This month, I am playing in the Around the House challenge over at the Mixed Media Monthly Challenge.

Our Players Badge for Your Blog

Starting out, I layered patterned paper to create some texture. The next layer was random stamping and stenciling with The CraftersWorkshop Tiny Circles stencil. To match my photos, I used Cerulean Blue Hue Liquitex Acrylic ink to create some drippage at the top and bottom. To fill in the middle, I used Heidi Swapp’s Bronzer Color Shine.

SnaggleTooth2

To highlight our big moment, I dabbed gold acrylic ink with a makeup sponge over a homemade star-burst stencil. I also used some thread as embellishment. The photo doesn’t really show it, but I printed two of these pictures with our hands. The bottom photo is brighter with less contrast. I edited the hands photo to add more detail. I popped the hands up with foam dots to give a bit of a three-dimensional effect.

I used patterned paper and a notebook punch to make a note for some journaling. I “hung” the note using some kitchen twine. For embellishments, I used some My Mind’s Eye banner die cuts. For the date, I used the pattern paper that matches the die cuts to bring out the pattern a bit more.

I had fun with this spread! Thanks for stopping by!

Bex


13 responses to “Snaggletooth: ArtJournal Spread

Leave a comment

My Honeysuckle Dreams

DIY: Trying out those Pinterest finds

Cheri Nordstrom

Muse Whisperer

Kimberly Lastinger Studio

My life illustrated.

Jamaica Homes | Real Estate Listings in Jamaica

Discover premier Jamaica real estate listings with Jamaica Homes. Explore a curated selection of properties for sale, including development and investment options. Unlock your dream home or investment potential with our expert guidance. Secure your piece of paradise today!

Groovy Journal

All Things Art & Design

Lindy's Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!